Story Sales & Service

South Dakota Ag News Headlines
Disaster Recovery Centers in Turner, Hutchinson Counties
South Dakota Ag Connection - 07/11/2019

The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency are sending mobile Disaster Recovery Centers to Turner and Hutchinson counties to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses that suffered losses from the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April.

Representatives from the state, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations will staff the mobile centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.

- Turner County, July 15-18, Viborg City Hall, 110 N. Main St., Viborg

- Hutchinson County, July 22-25, County Court House, 140 Euclid St., Olivet

Both Centers are open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.

Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit for additional fixed-site center locations.

The first step to receiving disaster assistance is to register with FEMA. You can do so:

- In person at the Disaster Recovery Center.

- Go online to or (for Spanish).

- Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.

- Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication.

The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, Turner and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.

Send this article to a friend

Other South Dakota Headlines
Byron Seeds
Osseo Plastics
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.